BUTLER COUNTY BOARD OF EQUALIZATION

January 16, 2024

A meeting of the Board of Equalization of Butler County, Nebraska was held on the 16th day of January 2024 at the Butler County Courthouse in David City, Nebraska.

Present were the following: Anthony Whitmore, Tony Krafka, Scot Bauer, Jan Sypal, Robert Coufal and Ryan Svoboda. Absent: Scott Steager

Notice of the meeting was given in advance thereof, by Publication, a designated method for giving notice, as shown by the Proof of Publication attached to the minutes. Notice of this meeting was given to all members of the Board and a copy of their acknowledgement of receipt of notice and the agenda is attached to the minutes. Availability of the agenda was communicated in the advance notice and in the notice to all members of the board of this meeting. All proceedings hereafter shown were taken while the convened meeting was open to the attendance of the public.

Board of Supervisors Chairman, Anthony Whitmore, called the meeting to order and announced that a complete copy of the Open Meetings Act is posted in the meeting room.

Election of Chairman for 2024

Supervisor Coufal nominated Anthony Whitmore for Chairman of the Butler County Board of Equalization; the nomination was seconded by Svoboda. With no other nominations, it was moved by Bauer, seconded by Coufal to cease nominations, and cast a unanimous ballot for Anthony Whitmore as Chairman of the Butler County Board of Equalization. Upon roll call vote the following voted:

Aye: Bauer, Sypal, Coufal, Svoboda, Krafka, & Whitmore.

Nay: NONE Absent: Steager. Motion carried.

Election of Vice-Chairman for 2024

Nominations for Vice-Chairman of the Butler County Board of Equalization were called for. Supervisor Bauer nominated Scott Steager for Vice-Chairman; the nomination was seconded by Coufal. With no other nominations, it was moved by Coufal, seconded by Svoboda to cast a unanimous ballot for Scott Steager as Vice-Chairman of the Butler County Board of Equalization. Upon roll call vote the following voted:

Aye: Coufal, Svoboda, Krafka, Bauer, Sypal, & Whitmore.

Nay: NONE. Absent: Steager. Motion carried.

The Chairman declared the minutes from the previous meeting shall stand approved as presented.

Designation of Official Means of Providing Meeting Notices and Proceedings

Moved by Sypal, seconded by Svoboda to designate The Banner-Press and the Butler County Website as the official means of publication. Upon roll call vote the following voted:

Aye: Sypal, Coufal, Svoboda, Krafka, Bauer, & Whitmore.

Nay: NONE. Absent: Steager. Motion carried.

Consideration/Approval Motor Vehicle Exemptions Requests

County Treasurer, Karey Adamy, presented before the board an Application for Exemption from Motor Vehicle Taxes for St Joseph's Villa.

Moved by Sypal, seconded by Coufal to accept and approve the application as presented. Upon roll call vote the following voted:

Aye: Sypal, Coufal, Svoboda, Krafka, Bauer, & Whitmore.

Nay: NONE. Absent: Steager. Motion carried.

Set Date & Time for Tax Exemption on Real and Personal Property by Qualifying Organizations Hearing

County Assessor, Vickie Donoghue, appeared before the board and explained that every 4 years the board has to review the applications for exemption on real and personal property by qualifying organizations. She informed the board that the state is requiring a lot more information than they have in the past. She needs to give the board her recommendation for approval by March 1st and the board needs to make their decision between February 1st and June 1st of this year. She recommended they spend a little more time looking at each application this year. Moved by Sypal, seconded by Svoboda to set the date & time for the tax exemption on real and personal property by qualifying organizations hearing for February 20, 2024 at 10:00 a.m. Upon roll call vote the following voted:

Aye: Sypal, Coufal, Svoboda, Krafka, Bauer, & Whitmore.

Nay: NONE. Absent: Steager. Motion carried.

Moved by Coufal, seconded by Svoboda to exit the Board of Equalization at 9:42 a.m. Upon roll call vote the following voted:

Aye: Coufal, Svoboda, Krafka, Bauer, Sypal, & Whitmore.

Nay: NONE. Absent: Steager. Motion carried.

Stephanie L. Laska County Clerk Anthony Whitmore Chairman